Meet the Leaders & Board of Directors at Providence

Our Leadership

Executive Team


Darcy Burthay, MSN, RN

President & CEO




James Bobbitt


James Bobbitt

Vice President, Human Resources




Anne Buening


Anne Buening

Vice President, Mission Integration




Kirstan Cecil


Kirstan Cecil

Chief Marketing & Communications Officer





Mourine Evans, MS, RN

Senior Vice President, Patient Care Services & Chief Nursing Officer





Scott Furniss

Senior Vice President & Chief Financial Officer




Francisco Hoyos


Francisco Hoyos, MD

Senior Vice President, Co-Chief Medical Officer




Muhammad Shibli


Muhammad Shibli, MD

Senior Vice President, Co-Chief Medical Officer





Mejebi Mayor, MD, JD, FACOG

Physician Executive, Providence Health Physician Services





Phil Mazzara

President & CEO, Providence Health Foundation




Ruth Pollard


Ruth Pollard

Assistant Vice President, Community Health Network & Government Affairs




Eugenia Powell


Eugenia Powell, PhD, RN

Chief Quality Officer




Board of Directors

  • Steve Strazzella - Chair
  • Sister Mary Bader - Vice Chair
  • Darcy Burthay - President & CEO
  • Joel Bowers, MD
  • Vera Vaswani Chawla
  • William Cox  
  • Sister Teresa George
  • Nalini N. Jairath, PhD
  • Derek Leebaert, D. Phil.
  • Marie E. Michnich, DrPH
  • John K. Mullins, CPA
  • Sister Elyse Staab
  • Judi Teske
  • Roderic L. Woodson, Esq.
  • Michael Fitzgerald
    Sassan Taghizadeh, MD - President, Medical Staff

Main hospital Phone: (202) 854 7000

Providence Hospital, 1150 Varnum Street, N.E. Washington, DC 20017 2180